Research Policy Committee


The Research Policy Committee is a faculty advisory committee to the Provost on research, scholarship, and creative activities of the MSU faculty. The committee submits recommendations to the Provost on various university policies to strengthen the research environment on campus. RPC membership includes one faculty member from each college/school selected by the Provost, one Sigma Xi faculty member, the Director of Sponsored Programs, and the Faculty Coordinator of Office for Research and Creative Activities (ORCA). 

Report on Faculty Research Conditions and Changes Since 2010

Distinguished Researcher Award

Each year, the RPC selects recipients of the MSU Alumni Association Distinguished Researcher Award, which is intended to recognize excellence in research and reflects the significance of faculty research to the educational environment at Murray State University. The Distinguished Researcher receives a $1000 cash award, and the researcher’s name is engraved on the MSU Alumni Association Distinguished Research Award plaque located in the MSU Alumni Center. 

Emerging Scholar Award

Each year, the RPC selects two recipients if the MSU Alumni Association Emerging Scholar Award. This award recognizes superior research, scholarly, or creative work conducted by Murray State University faculty members who are in the early phase of their careers and who show professional promise. Significant achievements associated with the nomineeʼs work should have been realized while the nominee has held a faculty position at the University. Two prizes will be awarded: one in the area of science, technology and mathematics, the second in the area of the arts, literature, humanities, and social sciences. Each Emerging Scholar receives a $500 cash award, and the researcher’s name is engraved on the MSU Alumni Association Emerging Scholar Award plaque located in the MSU Alumni Center.

Outstanding Research Award

The Research Policy Committee (RPC) awards an Outstanding Research Award to a faculty member in each college and school (including University Libraries) recognizing outstanding research, scholarly or creative activity during the previous calendar year. (Thus, the award presented in April, 2015 would be for research outcomes in 2014).  

Each Outstanding Research Award recipient will be honored during a University-wide Scholars’ Week event, be recognized in the program of the Faculty Recognition Banquet, and will be presented a certificate in honor of this achievement. Faculty members who wish to be considered for the award must submit their nomination form and supporting materials to their faculty representative on the RPC, or award committee in their college. The deadline for submission of nomination varies by college. Check with your RPC representative or college award committee for the deadline date to submit a nomination. MSU colleges and schools are shown below: 

  • Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business - Guidelines and Nomination Form (Word document)
  • College of Education and Human Services
  • College of Humanities and Fine Arts
  • Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology
  • Hutson School of Agriculture
  • School of Nursing and Health Professions
  • University Libraries